serenity Undistracted prayer is a sign of love for God; but careless or distracted prayer is a sign of love for pleasure. – Saint Kosmas Aitolos +1779

Humbling, for undistracted prayers have been few and far between in the past few weeks. New babies, birthdays, apartment applications, seminary classes, long work weeks, pesky bugs eating the garden, and a wonderful blessed surprise for our small (growing) family, and all the changes that brings; I’ve hardly made time to be grateful. I am graced with far more than I need and yet, I complain. The war for our souls, and the path towards salvation is where my focus should be. Forgive me, for my love of pleasure and the mundane and forgetting the heavenly. Grant mercy to my husband, my Priest, my church, and my child. Give me a spirit of patience, silence and prayer, for I lack all three.

