The new year has brought in it’s fair share of trials so far. Kevin and myself have both been struggling with sickness, pertussis to be specific and as such have missed every service since the Sunday after Theophany for fear of getting the young children and elderly sick. It’s been a challenge for both of us, as neither of us had been absent from the services for such an extended period of time since our Baptism. We are longing to return. Kevin seems to be on the mend finally and it is my hope that he will be able to attend the services in preparation for the “Meeting of our Lord in the temple”. I myself am starting to feel better as well but I am still showing multiple symptoms. I’m feeling optimistic about this coming weekend, if my symptoms ease up. It will be a wonderful homecoming!

Now that I’m starting to feel better I was able to get a few pictures from our trip to California during the weekend of Theophany to visit some of our dear friends for the baptism of their son Elijah David. Kevin was asked to take on the responsibility of Godfather to Elijah. I pray he always remembers the significance of what is asked.

“To be a godparent is at the same time a great honor and a tremendous responsibility. God asks each godparent to assist in leading souls along the narrow path which leads to the Kingdom of Heaven. For this reason the role of the godparent is not to be minimized or trivialized. It is in fact a role that is holy and needs to be taken seriously.

The task of steering a child along the narrow path, and bringing them up according to the law of God is perhaps the greatest of all things in life. St. Theophan the Recluse says that there is no holier act. What better thing can we offer our children than to lead them to our Lord and teach them to imitate Him in their life.” – source

