Tags

, , , ,

Yesterday was a bit of a special day for us. My mother had the day off work and Genevieve and I were able to spend the day with her. Since we’ve moved, we see her about once a week and for her, that’s just not enough time with her first grandchild. She was overjoyed to be able to spend the day with Genevieve. Having grandma on baby duty enabled me up to cash in on my birthday present, a gift card for a massage. The massage was such a great gift idea for me or any new mama. Carrying and caring for babies is hard work, mentally and physically and it was really nice to be pampered for an hour, though I couldn’t fully relax because I was constantly thinking about my darling girl. Shows how little I’m away from her. After my massage I made homemade biscuits and gravy for my mother and we relaxed, sipping tea and warming ourselves by the fire. It was a beautiful but chilly overcast day, perfect for reading a good book. The afternoon arrived far too quickly but we were able to slip outside for an impromptu photoshoot. I’ve trying to get a good picture of her/her & me to send out for Nativity cards. We’ll have to do another session when Kevin isn’t at work but it will be nice to have multiple images to send relatives and friends. Here are two of my favorites.

Genevieve about to snatch up a leaf

Genevieve about to snatch up a leaf

Smiley baby

Smiley baby

We ended the day with homemade soup and headed to bed early. It was one of those simple healing sort of days. I think we could all use days like that every once in a while.

 

