A little late but we’ve been busy around here! Nativity was wonderful. The service was beautiful, the joy, impossible to miss.

NativityIconTroparion of the Feast, Tone IV

Thy nativity, O Christ our God,/ hath shone forth the light of knowledge upon the world;/ for therein those who worship the stars/ have been taught by a star to worship Thee,/ the Sun of righteousness,/ and to know Thee the Orient from on high.// O Lord, glory be to Thee!

During the feast, the children put on a Nativity Play for us. I was asked to sing an accompaniment while they acted. We had the Theotokos, an Angel, Wisemen, Shepards and Genevieve was the Star of Bethlehem. It was very sweet and the children loved being involved.

Nativity is also the celebration of my ‘rebirth’, I was baptized three years ago. Sometimes it seems like I’ve been Orthodox for much longer, and at other times I still feel that I’m very much a baby Orthodox. In three short years I’ve gotten baptized, married, had a baby and Kevin has been ordained to the subdiaconate. I would have never guessed so much would have changed.

I am eager to see what the next few years bring. A hope of mine is that 2014 will bring another baby, but only God knows. I also hope that subdeacon Kevin will get a chance to really focus on his schooling without too much distraction and will be able to go to Jordanville for his intensive training course come July. His seminary requires him to attend a summer residency program the summer before he graduates and as of now he is on track to graduate in 2015.

