Tags

, , , , , , , ,

DSC_0079

Holy Trinity Monastery puts out a wonderful bi-monthly publication called ‘Orthodox Life’. We got our March – April edition a few weeks ago but I just got around to opening it up this week. I love the convenience of it, as a young mother maneuvering priorities around nap schedules, it’s difficult to read articles and homilies sent to me online. When i get a chance to spend some time on the computer, I’m often looking up recipes for dinner, responding to work related items, or trying to crank out a blog post. The Orthodox Life subscription allows me to have something new, that is full of interesting, spiritually beneficial articles, delivered to my mailbox every other month. I really like that it’s not very big and very light (physically), so that I can hold it in one hand while nursing my little one and that it’s in easy to read sections that allow the constant picking up and putting down that motherhood requires.

One of my favorite sections is the “Quotations For Consideration’

It’s a small section filled with quotes from the holy fathers usually from a specific topic. The March – April issue was on Forgiveness. Here are a few of my favorites!

“God gave us two capabilities, equally precious for our feeble hearts: to remember and to forget. When good is done to us, appreciation dictates that we remember it. When evil is inflicted upon us, love motivates us to forget it.” – St. Ambrose of Milan

“Humility and patience is more victorious than contention – even if it were based on a justifiable reason. Humble behavior may teach another humility: but one will never humble the proud with pride.” – St. Philaret Metropolitan of Moscow

“It is more glorious to bear and offence in rather than be triumphant with some sharp answer.” – St. Gregory the Dialogist

I’m also reading Elizabeth Pantley’s ‘The no-cry sleep solution’, because at some point, preferably before baby #2 makes its grand debut, Genevieve will need to learn to sleep in her crib and we need some gentle help with that transition. I’ll let you know what I think of it once I’ve finished it and we’ve started implementing the recommended steps.

 

 

 

