Tags

, , , , , ,

Since i was a young girl I’ve always loved bread. In my opinion, fresh baked bread, warm from the oven, trumps dessert every time. Whole wheat, white, rye, I’m not picky, especially when it’s still warm and smothered in butter. Before I was married, I wouldn’t bat an eye at spending a good bit of money a couple times a week on some fresh bread from a local organic bakery but now that I have a budget and a family to care for, $7 for one small loaf is simply not an option we can afford. Let alone the time it takes to drive to the lovely little bakery. In my mind, attempting my own was intimidating and seemed time consuming, but the last year of Prosphora baking for our Parish has shown me a love for bread baking that I hadn’t realized. 

In the past few weeks, in addition to weekly Prosphora baking, I’ve been trying to bake more and more. This week I was aiming for baking every day, and I managed to only miss one. Monday was a rye bread, Tuesday white, Wednesday Prosphora, Thursday I skipped and today I made the white again. We don’t typically eat much white bread but it was recommended as a good starter bread for beginners from a bread baking site called “The Fresh Loaf“. I like it because even though No-Knead breads are popular right now, I’m a sucker for the old fashioned knead breads. I love the feeling of the dough changing under my hands and prefer to work directly with it, as it makes me feel like I’m part of the creative work, if you can call it that. I find the 10-15 minutes of kneading, the repetition of the movements, to be very calming and enjoyable. I think it might have to do with learning to knead on Prosphora, and while making Prosphora you are encouraged to pray as much as possible so in my mind, prayer goes hand in hand with kneading. I can always use another physical reminder to add more prayer into my day. 

In other news, this week marks twenty weeks of pregnancy with baby two, I’ve attached a very poor quality picture, for those who love seeing the physical changes. This pregnancy is flying by and it’s hard to believe in no time at all I’ll be a mother of two. I couldn’t be more excited and grateful for the opportunity and gift.

 

Happy Mothers Day to all the mothers i know. If you get a chance, check out the wonderful gift Jennifer of Illumination-Learning.com shared in honor of Mothers Day. It’s a wonderful pdf of St. Nectarios teaching for Mothers and the Upbringing of Children. It’s a wonderful reminder of the utter importance that we Mothers are tasked with in raising our children.

MotherUpbringingOfChildren

 

 

