Tags

It’s been 2 full months since I’ve last posted, not because there was nothing to say but because it has all been so sudden and uncertain. We’ve moved out of the house we were in and are living with my Mother for the time being. It wasn’t something anyone could have foreseen or changed but it was difficult for me to accept and I was struggling with not knowing where this baby was going to be born and the uncertainty of the situation. If only I could always remember Matthew 6.

Therefore take no thought , saying , What shall we eat ? or, What shall we drink ? or, Wherewithal shall we be clothed ?  (For after all these things do the Gentiles seek:) for your heavenly Father knoweth that ye have need of all these things.  But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.  Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.

Matthew 6:31-34

We are a bit more settled now but living with my mother has proven to have problems of it’s own. She lives in a beautiful old farmhouse that has the original well and after testing it, we’ve found coliform bacteria and E.Coli in it. Which means that as is, it is unsafe to drink (which we knew, we just didn’t know how bad) and more importantly unsafe to birth a child in, or use any of the water on the new baby and myself while we are recovering. I had been planning, up to this point to have a waterbirth at home, and this complicates things.
In addition to the contaminated water, my mom’s septic tank cannot handle the volume of washing cloth diapers need and it looks like we are going to have to hookup to the city sewer, which will cost a pretty penny. For the time being we are using disposables. From my experience of the past month and a half, my devotion to cloth diapers has only grown. I firmly believe that disposable diapers leak considerably more, since we’ve had three times the amount of blowouts since since switching, not to forget the monthly cost! I’m desperately missing my cloth diapers.
We have some options, some are more expensive than others and we are trying to decide what are the best decisions financially and for the safety and health of our family.

I’m telling you this because it’s real life and sometimes life throws you for a loop and we must keep faith. No one is perfect, life is not always gentle or fair, sometimes it’s downright hard but on the grand scale of eternity, these inconveniences are so very small. In the midst of difficulties we must remember to keep peace in and around us as much as possible and to cry out to Christ, His Mother, and the saints. There is a beautiful akathist “The Akathist to Almighty God – For help in trouble” and here are a few very lines that brought me comfort and may do the same for you when you are in a situation far more challenging than this. 

Oh Lord, my Lord, impart Thy peace to my lowly soul;

Oh Lord, my Lord; strengthen me with power from on high lest I fall under the weight of this tribulation;

Oh Lord, my Lord, my joy, grant that I may rejoice in Thy mercy. 

