What is Five Minute Friday?

Every Thursday a one-word prompt will be announced those who’d like to participate in Five Minute Friday will write for five minutes on the topic of the week, post it on their own blog and link up!

As any of my devoted readers know (hi sissy!), I struggle to post often and I thought this would be a good ways for me to get more posts in. I started this blog for multiple reasons but one of them was to improve my writing but with all the overthinking I do, I rarely get a post out. I’m hoping Five Minute Fridays will give the the freedom and encouragement to post more frequently, even if it means that it will be imperfect and rushed. Just write, for 5 minutes, once a week. I’m committed to this for a month and then we’ll re-evaluate. I reserve the right to miss next week if I’m in labor.
This weeks prompt is READY! Let’s get to it.

38weeks

38 weeks and 4 days pregnant, ready is something I’m certainly not. Ready for Labor? Sure, I trust my body, I trust my midwife, I trust this process.

Ready for the transition from one baby to two? Not today, I’m not.
My 15 month old was awake from 2:30 am – 6:45am and we had a midwife appointment at 9:00 sharp. Which is nothing compared to the crazy lack of sleep that’s about to hit in 10 days, give or take a few. Genevieve is not even close to sleeping through the night yet and I’m the only one who can comfort her or she gets so worked up that she is awake for hours, kinda like last night. What is life going to look like when I have a newborn that wakes every couple hours and my increasingly clinging 15 month old. I can’t fathom it at this time. I know people do it. I planned this, I wanted this age gap, I prayed for this baby and I was granted this wonderful gift to mother two babies, but now I’m asking another prayer.

Oh most Holy Theotokos, Mother of our Lord, give me strength, patience and courage. Guide me as I embark on this journey of mothering two. I cannot do it alone. Prepare my heart with humility and servanthood. Make me Ready!

“Notwithstanding she shall be saved in childbearing, if they continue in faith and charity and holiness with sobriety.” 1 Timothy 2:15

